Coming Soon on Maaduu…Pretty Man (Yeppeun Namja; 예쁜남자)

File:Bel Ami (Pretty Boy)-cp.jpgPretty Man 06

In Brief

Profile
Drama: Bel Ami (English title) / Pretty Boy (early English title) / Beautiful Man (literal title) / Pretty Man (literal title)
Revised romanization: Yebbeun Namja
Hangul: 예쁜남자
Director: Jung Jung-Hwa
Writer: Chon Kye-Young (cartoon), Yoo Young-A
Network: KBS2
Episodes: 16 (tentative)
Release Date: November 20, 2013 —
Runtime: Wed. & Thu. 21:55
Language: Korean
Country: South Korea

Main Cast
Jang Keun Suk as Dokgo Ma Te
IU as Kim Bo Tong
Lee Jang Woo as David Choi
Han Chae Young as Hong Yoo Ra

Plot
Based on the 17-volume comic book series “Yebbeun Namja” by Chon Kye-Young (first published November 27, 2009 by Seoul Media Group).

Dokgo Ma-Te (Jang Keun-Suk) is the most beautiful man in the world. He is also an ambitious man and wants to make a lot of money using his beautiful appearance. Dokgo Ma-Te meets Hong Yoo-Ra, the ex-daughter-in-law of a rich family. Hong Yoo-Ra recognizes Dokgo Ma-Te’s ambitions and becomes his mentor. Hong Yoo-Ra then gives Dokgo Ma-Te a mission to seduce 10 different women. The women have all succeeded in different fields and Dokgo Ma-Te is to glean their special abilities.

A strange woman then appears in front of Dokgo Ma-Te. Her name is Kim Bo-Tong, an ordinary girl from poor background. She has a huge crush on Dokgo Ma-Te. Can she make Dokgo Ma-Te love her?

(Sources: AsianWiki and Koreandrama.org)

My Preliminary Take On Pretty Man

Having loved him in Love Rain, I’ve been eager to check-out other K-dramas starring Jang Keun-Suk. Sadly the site I rely on for my K-drama fixes, Maaduu, doesn’t have his other dramas available due to licensing issues.

When I heard he plays the main character in the soon-to-be released romantic comedy Pretty Man, I was almost certain I would only get to watch it God-knows-when. To my delight, an update on its Facebook page revealed Pretty Man’s scheduled for release on Maaduu at midnight on November 21, Thursday (Malaysia time)!!! Just 24 hours after the initial screening in South Korea. I can barely believe it.

Questions already swirling in my mind: 

1). How is the protagonist Dokgo Ma-Te (brought to life by Jang Keun-Suk) the most beautiful man in the world? What qualified him such a title?

2). The challenge for Dokgo Ma-Te is to date ten successful women with the sole purpose of garnering their unique abilities. How? By way of magic or osmosis?

3). Considering this is a comedy, and not a dreaded melodrama, I suppose we’ll get no points for guessing he’ll ultimately fall head over heels in love with the plain Jane, Kim Bo-Tong? Or are we in for a surprise twist? Somehow in this case, I doubt so. Anyway, I love happily-ever-afters and therefore eagerly anticipating one in Pretty Man.

Hmmm, the plot does sound cheesy but it is after all supposed to be a romantic comedy so I should just loosen up, sit back, and enjoy the show. I’ve blocked my calendar for this momentous occasion. It’ll mark the first time I’ll be following a K-drama (or any series for that matter) merely a day later than its release in the country of origin. Ah, some excitement in my life… Won’t you join me?

One thought on “Coming Soon on Maaduu…Pretty Man (Yeppeun Namja; 예쁜남자)

  1. Pingback: Pretty Man (Yebbeun Namja; 예쁜남자) – My Viewings Episode 1 | Crab Rabbit's Coffee Corner

Leave a Reply

