Full House (Poolhawooseu; 풀하우스)

Profile

  • Drama: Full House
  • Revised romanization: Poolhawooseu
  • Hangul: 풀하우스 / 풀 하우스
  • Director: Pyo Min-Soo
  • Writer: Won Su-Yeon
  • Network: KBS2
  • Episodes: 16
  • Release Date: July 14 – September 2, 2004
  • Runtime: Wed. & Thurs. 21:00
  • Language: Korean
  • Country: South Korea

(Source: http://asianwiki.com/Full_House)

full-house-2 full-house-1

Plot

Han Ji-Eun, an aspiring scriptwriter, lives in a house called “Full House” built by her late father. One day, her two best friends trick her into believing she has won a free vacation. While she is away, they sell her house. On the plane, she meets a famous actor named Lee Young-Jae. Through comedic events, they get acquainted during her vacation and when she returns, she discovers her house has been sold to him.

Though they don’t get along with each other, as she is messy and he has a bad temper and likes cleanliness, they agreed to live with each other. At first, Ji-Eun works as his maid in order to buy her house back, but because of Young-Jae’s wish to make the love of his life, Kang Hye-Won jealous, they get married. They set up a contract for the marriage to last six months. During that time, complications arise and Ji-Eun and Young-Jae become attracted to each other.

(Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Full_House_(2004_TV_series))

My take on Full House

It’s true that Winter Sonata triggered the Korean Wave (Hallyu) here in Malaysia and for me personally. I couldn’t help but get swept off my feet by this sudden rush. My first K-drama, I hadn’t realized it was going to be melancholy throughout with a non-too-rosy ending to boot. Nonetheless, I was still drawn to K-dramas in its aftermath. That to me is the strange enchantment of K-dramas.

As if under a spell, I doggedly continued watching series after depressing series. They were drawing me into a dark abyss. Yikes! Enough crying already. Right when I was about to break free, Full House entered the scene and I was hooked again but this time with good reason.

It was refreshing to see Song Hye-Kyo, in the lead female role as Han Ji-Eun, as someone so bubbly, feisty, contagiously exuberant, and witty (though sometimes unintentional). Through no fault of hers and although her performance was excellent, I’d decided to steer clear of her series after Autumn In My Heart which I found to be way too wearisome. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised by her other-end-of-the-spectrum acting in Full House. I found myself laughing, cheering, crying along with her.

Rain’s portrayal of a popular movie star, Lee Young-Jae was also entertaining. Bratty, yet with the ability to be warm and caring, his character was believable.

Immensely enjoying a rare romantic comedy K-drama for the first time, I admittedly couldn’t wait to watch the ending that I went and got myself its original box set of VCDs and had a Full House marathon one weekend. I love happy endings so its closure was right up my alley. With loads of hoopla from start to finish, this, I told myself, is one K-drama for keeps. And oh, the song Fate (Oon Myung) by Why on its soundtrack and can be heard throughout the drama is one of my all-time favorites as it touches my soul somehow.

Since there weren’t anymore romantic comedies soon after Full House, it ended up being my last K-drama for a long time. That is until Love Rain renewed my interest. I recently watched Full House again on Maaduu. Even though still entertaining, I didn’t get the same level of satisfaction as I did before. Probably because Love Rain set a whole new standard for me.

True, Love Rain isn’t a rom-com, but there are many notable funny and light-hearted moments spread throughout the drama which makes it easier to get through the distressing parts. Also, in comparison to Love Rain’s Joon and Ha-Na, Full House’s Young-Jae and Ji-Eun don’t share the quintessential chemistry which I’d overlooked before.

Having said that, I still feel Full House is worth a watch for its uplifting effect.

Leave a Reply

