Spy Myeong-Wol (Seupayi Myeong-Wol; 스파이명월)

Profile

        • Drama: Spy MyeongWol (English title)
        • Revised romanization: Seupayi Myeong Wol
        • Hangul: 스파이명월
        • Director: Hwang In-Hyuk
        • Writer: Jeon Hyeon-JinKim Eun-Young
        • Network: KBS2
        • Episodes: 18
        • Release Date: July 11 – September 6, 2011
        • Runtime: Mon & Tue 21:55
        • Language: Korean
        • Country: South Korea

(Source: http://asianwiki.com/Spy_MyeongWol)

Spy_MyeongWol-1

Plot

An elite North Korean spy, Han Myung Wol, and her partner, Choi Ryu, infiltrates South Korea on a mission to disrupt the Hallyu Wave by kidnapping one of their top stars, Kang Woo. Despite her proficiency at her job, Myung Wol’s one weakness is her uncontrollable curiosity. Hijinks ensue when she falls in love with Kang Woo instead.

(Source: http://wiki.d-addicts.com/Myung_Wol_the_Spy)

My take on Spy Myeong-Wol

After the immense satisfaction (and consequent addiction) I reaped from Love Rain and my Maaduu discovery, I experienced renewed vigor for Korean dramas. So I dared myself to venture into the unknown – watch other Korean dramas with just a vague prior knowledge about them. Based on the previews on Maaduu, I’d compiled a little list of “potentials”. My main criteria – romance and comedy. Yup, I’m such a sucker for rom-coms plus laughter is after all the best medicine.

 

Spy Myeong-Wol was my very first adventurous foray after having seen it advertised on Maaduu. Having not paid attention to history and politics much (most of the Geography I learnt in school has been archived in the corner recesses of my brain) I was intrigued by the plot involving a North Korean female agent infiltrating South Korea in order to kidnap a famous Hallyu star to call their own. Kinda silly but hey, it is supposed to be a comedy right?

 

Seeking enjoyment, this drama unfortunately left me utterly disgruntled. It got so tiresome but I plodded on because I strive to try to finish what I’ve started. On the bright side, it was an hour of mindlessness – giving my brain a good break before going to bed every night. What a debacle it turned out to be as the drama crumbled episode by episode.

From the beginning I felt there’s no connection between Myeong-Wol (Han Ye-Seul) and Kang-Woo (Eric). It all seemed so false and forced. I couldn’t relate to their characters as their acting was mechanical. To a certain extent, I felt the supporting cast Lee Jin-Wook (as Choi Ryu) and Jang Hee-Jin (as Joo In-Ah) fared slightly better than the main cast. I really don’t know any of these actors to truly comment on their performance. Perhaps the main problem stems from bad dialog and directing? I’m not sure.

I do like a few of the songs namely Afraid Of Love (Bobby Kim), More Than Anyone In The World (Lena Park), and If You Love Me More (Ryeo-Wook of Super Junior) but sadly songs cannot serve as lifesavers of disastrous dramas.

In sum, Spy Myeong-Wol a waste of time if you’re looking for something of substance.

Question triggered by Spy Myeong-Wol

Although I wasn’t intending to do much thinking, it was unavoidable sometimes as my mind wanders off in search of something more interesting than the spectacle before my eyes.

Are North and South Koreans allowed to visit each other?
Apparently not. As I found on Wikipedia, citizens of South Korea require special permission from both governments to enter North Korea and are typically not granted such permission for regular tourism except in special tourist areas designated for South Koreans.

Are North Koreans then allowed to travel to South Korea? I guess not right?

Reunions for families haplessly separated after the Korean War (1950-53) was first organized in year 2000. The last being in 2010, plans for one in September 2013 has been halted by North Korea, to the disenchantment of those who were successful in getting approval. This is because not all families who register were or will be successful in participating in these emotionally-charged reunions. At normal times, separated family members have no means to keep in touch as no direct mail or telephone contacts are allowed between North and South Korea.

Such a sad state of affairs which hopefully will eventually get amicably resolved. Here’s where I’ll draw a close because I’m not one to comment about politics.

Leave a Reply

